Delarof Harbor, Unga Island

Delarof Harbor, Unga Island

by | Apr 12, 2021

Unga is an abandoned village on Delarof Harbor, on the southeast coast of Unga Island in the Shumagin Islands, about 73 miles (118 km) southwest of Perryville and 9.5 miles (15 km) south of Sand Point, Alaska. Unga was first settled by Aleut people in 1833 as a fur trading post. The “Ounga” post office was established in 1888, changed its name to Unga in 1894, and was discontinued in 1958 after most residents moved to nearby Sand Point.

Delarof Harbor is a cove about 0.8 miles (1.3 km) across, named by Captain Mikhail Tebenkov of the Imperial Russian Navy in 1852. The name is probably for the Greek-born Eustrate Ivanovich Delarov, who was director of the Russian-American Company in about 1784-91. Delarov was the first documented Greek explorer and merchant to arrive in Alaska. He was an accomplished mariner who explored the Alaska coast in the late 18th and early 19th century on behalf of the Russian-American Company.

In 1969, the last family moved from Unga and now the town is no longer occupied year-round. The area is still a subsistence use site for residents of Sand Point. The only means of transportation is by floatplane or boat. Read more here and here. Explore more of Unga and Delarof Harbor here:

About the background graphic

This ‘warming stripe’ graphic is a visual representation of the change in global temperature from 1850 (top) to 2022 (bottom). Each stripe represents the average global temperature for one year. The average temperature from 1971-2000 is set as the boundary between blue and red. The color scale goes from -0.7°C to +0.7°C. The data are from the UK Met Office HadCRUT4.6 dataset. 

Credit: Professor Ed Hawkins (University of Reading). Click here for more information about the #warmingstripes.

Please report any errors here

error: Content is protected !!