Triple Island Light is a large, manned light station in Brown Passage, about 17 miles (28 km) west of Prince Rupert, British Columbia. Brown Passage is bounded by Dundas Island to the north, and the south by the Tree Nob Group of islets and rocks off the north end of Stephens Island.
While underway from Masset to Prince Rupert on August 18, 1914, the Grand Trunk Pacific steamer Prince Albert ran aground in dense fog on Butterworth Rocks, 3 miles (4.8 km) southwest of Triple Island. Passengers and crew were put off in lifeboats and picked up by Prince John, but during the transfer, a baby fell overboard and drowned.
This tragedy resulted in the building of a reinforced-concrete lighthouse in 1920 at Triple Island. After four years of construction, the concrete station features a tower 72 feet (21.9 m) tall attached to a rectangular concrete structure that houses the keepers’ quarters and machinery. A helipad occupies much of the remainder of the islet. Canadian Coast Guard personnel man the station on a 28-day rotation. The station was designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 1974. Read more here and here. Explore more of Triple Island here: