Tillamook Rock Light is a deactivated lighthouse located near Tillamook Head, about 71 miles (115 km) northwest of Portland and 34 miles (39 km) north-northwest of Tillamook, Oregon. The light is on a small basalt islet 20 miles (32 km) south of the Columbia River.
The light was first activated on January 21, 1881, after 575 days of construction, and was assigned with four keepers. Duty at Tillamook Light was considered difficult due to the isolation from civilization, and the severe weather conditions. The light was nicknamed “Terrible Tilly”, for the living conditions at its location.
Frequent storm damage and difficult access contributed to this being the most expensive U.S. lighthouse to operate. It was decommissioned in 1957 and sold to private owners. Read more here and here. See a short video here. Explore more of Tillamook Rock here: