Kaguyak is an abandoned Alutiiq village on the Aliulik Peninsula of Kodiak Island at the head of Kaguyak Bay, about 165 miles (266 km) southeast of King Salmon and 81 miles (131 km) southwest of the city of Kodiak.
The earthquake of March 27, 1964, generated a series of tsunamis that virtually destroyed the village, and it was subsequently abandoned. It is now used as a summer fish camp. An older village site now called Old Kaguyak was once located a few miles south. This is where some of the first Kodiak Islanders encountered Russian fur traders. A smallpox epidemic in Old Kaguyak caused people to move the village to Kaguyak Bay in the 1860s.
The new village had over 200 people, many houses, and several stores and was originally named “Alsentia” on Russian charts, and in 1880 it was reported as “Kaguiak”. The population declined rapidly with the decimation of the sea otter population, and by the early 20th century, the village had less than 100 residents. After the tsunamis of 1964, many residents of Kaguyak settled permanently in the nearby communities of Old Harbor and Akhiok. Read more here and here. Explore more of Kaguyak Bay Click here: