Kendrick Island is an uninhabited island near the eastern entrance to Gabriola Pass, off the northeast coast of Valdes Island and surrounded by Wakes Cove Provincial Park, British Columbia. The island is owned by the West Vancouver Yacht Club and is about 1 mile (1.6 km) long, and an average of 0.25 miles (0.4 km) wide. It is currently undeveloped except for a dock and several mooring floats.
Valdes Island is one of the Gulf Islands located in the Strait of Georgia between Gabriola and Galiano Islands, and about 10.5 miles (17 km) southeast of Nanaimo. The island is one of the largest and least developed of the Gulf Islands. It is named after Spanish explorer Cayetano Valdés y Flores, who first came to the region in 1791 as a lieutenant serving under Captain Alessandro Malaspina on the ship Descubierta. Valdes returned later in 1792 as captain of the Mexicana to explore the area with Dionisio Alcalá Galiano who captained the Sutil. The island was given its name in 1859 by George Henry Richards, captain of HMS Plumper.
Valdes Island covers an area of 9 square miles (23 sq km) and is approximately 1 mile (1.6 km) wide and 10 miles (16 km) long. Access to the island is restricted to private boats and floatplanes. There is no public ferry service to the island and no public roads, only old logging roads crisscrossing the island that is used for local travel. Wakes Cove Provincial Park is located at the north end of the island. The site at Wakes Cove is still undeveloped, lacking any facilities for campers. Read more here and here. Explore more of Kendrick Island and Wakes Cove here: