Saltery Cove extends southeast for 1.5 miles (2.4 km) off Skowl Arm on the east coast of Prince of Wales Island, Alaska. The name was reported in 1904 by H.C. Fassett, of the U.S. Bureau of Fisheries, after a small fish saltery located in the cove.
Skowl Arm is a 6.5 mile (10.5 km) long estuary located off Kasaan Bay. The bay was named by traders around 1880 after the well-known Chief Skowl [Sqa’oal] of the Kaigani Haida, whose wealth and enormous stature made him a notable man on the coast. He was the chief of the original (Old) Kasaan village, located on the north side of the bay and across from Saltery Cove.
Old Kasaan, now abandoned, was a Haida village possibly established before 1800. The Tlingit name was Kasaan, derived from “Kasian” meaning “pretty town,” that came into local usage. This was pronounced “GAsa’n” by the Haida, and so named because of the large number of ornate totems located in the village. The village was listed by Ivan Petroff in the 1880s as Kasaan (and also “Skowl”). With the establishment in the 1890s of a salmon-packing plant on Kasaan Bay 8 miles (12.9 km) to the north, this place was abandoned. The Haida settlement that grew around the new cannery, was known as “Kasaan” especially when the Kasaan post office was established in 1900 and the earlier site became “Old Kasaan”. In 1916, the old village site was part of the Old Kasaan National Monument. The National Monument status was abolished in 1955 and the village site is now part of Old Kasaan Village Historical Area, administered by the U.S. Forest Service. Read more here and here. Explore more of Saltery Cove and Skowl Bay here: