Kalaloch is a resort area on the west coast of the Olympic Peninsula, in Olympic National Park, Washington. The resort is on a bluff about 50 feet (15 m) in elevation, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, and consists of a lodge, cabins, and a campground. The National Park Service also has a seasonal ranger station and maintenance facility at Kalaloch.
The beach at Kalaloch is wide, flat, and sandy and historically was used by the Quinault as a landing for dugout canoes. The name Kalaloch is a corruption of the Quinault term k’–E–le–ok, pronounced Kq–â-lā’–ȯk, meaning “a good place to land”, “canoe launch and landing”, or “sheltered landing”. This is one of the few good landing sites between the Quinault River and Hoh River because even though it is very exposed, the beach is relatively flat, and wave energy is mostly dissipated in a wide surf zone.
Washington became a state in 1889, and President Grover Cleveland created the Olympic Forest Reserve in 1897, which was renamed Olympic National Forest. In 1925, Charles W. Becker purchased 40 acres (16 ha) of coastal land south of Kalaloch Creek and milled lumber from driftwood logs to build the main lodge and cabins at Kalaloch. In 1938, President Franklin D. Roosevelt designated 898,000 acres (363,000 ha) of the national forest as Olympic National Park to preserve some of the primeval forests from logging. In 1953, President Harry S. Truman added a narrow strip of coastal old-growth forest to the park, including the Kalaloch area. The National Park Service purchased the Becker property in 1978 and renamed it, Kalaloch Lodge. Read more here and here. Explore more of Kalaloch here: