Letnikof Cove is an embayment about 0.5 miles (0.8 km) across, on the southwest coast of the Chilkat Peninsula, about 1.6 miles (2.6 km) north of Kochu Island in Chilkat Inlet, and 5 miles (8 km) south of Haines, Alaska. The name is from the Russian “Bukhta Letnikov”, meaning “Letnikov Cove”, published on Russian hydrographic charts from 1848. It was published as Letnikoff Cove by the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey in the 1883 Coast Pilot.
The Chilkat Peninsula is between Chilkat Inlet and Chilkoot Inlet and extends south-southeast for 11 miles (18 km) from Haines to Seduction Point. It was named for Chilkat Inlet by C.W. Wright of the U.S. Geological Survey in 1904, which in turn was named after the Chilkat River. The Chilkat River starts at the Chilkat Glacier in Alaska, and flows west and south through the Coast Range in British Columbia for 17 miles (27 km), then re-enters Alaska and continues southwest for another 37 miles (60 km) to Chilkat Inlet and ultimately to Lynn Canal. It reaches the ocean at the abandoned area of Wells, Alaska, and deposits sediment into a long delta. The river was named by the Russians for the Chilkat group of Tlingit who lived in the region. The name means “salmon storehouse”.
The Letnikof Cove Cannery was built in 1917 and is still operated by the Haines Packing Company, the oldest continuously operating business in Haines and one of the oldest canneries in Southeast Alaska. The cannery is one of 12 historical salmon canneries in the Chilkat Valley and now the last remaining with a dock and warehouse. Haines Packing Company still processes all 5 species of Alaska salmon here, as well as crab, halibut, and shrimp. Read more here and here. Explore more of Letnikof Cove here: