Twin Rocks is on the Oregon coast in Tillamook County and is one of three small communities along 3 miles (5 km) of beach between Rockaway Beach and Garibaldi, Oregon. Twin Rocks was founded as a summer resort and named for two prominent offshore rocks.
The shore from Tillamook Bay to the mouth of the Nehalem River is bordered by a continuous sand beach 5.8 miles (9.3 km) long. This area is underlain by marine sedimentary rock strata with a few outcrops of Columbia River Basalt such as the Twin Rocks sea stacks off the community of Twin Rocks. One of the stacks is a natural arch sometimes called Elephant Head. These islands are part of the Oregon Islands National Wildlife Refuge.
The community of Rockaway Beach is 1 mile (1.6 km) north of Twin Rocks and was established as a seaside resort in 1909 by the Rockaway Beach Company. It was named after Rockaway Beach on Long Island in New York. Rockaway was connected to Portland by the Pacific Railway and Navigation Company with a train service in 1912. About 1 mile (1.6 km) south of Twin Rocks is the community of Watseco. The brothers George and Robert Watt bought 360 acres (150 ha) of beachfront land here and this became a flag stop for the coastal railroad. The name is a combination of “Watt” and “Sea Coast”, assigned in 1916. Watseco Creek, named after the station, flows through the community. Read more here and here. Explore more of Twin Rocks here: