Mutton Cove is 0.3 miles (0.5 km) across, on the north shore of Chernofski Harbor, on the southwest coast of Unalaska Island, about 53 miles (85 km) southwest of Dutch Harbor and 16 miles (26 km) east of the abandoned Fort Glenn, Alaska. The descriptive name for the cove was given in 1937 by the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey for “wool and mutton were shipped out of this locality by the sheep ranchmen, the only inhabitants”.
Chernofski Harbor was presumably named after the Russian family name of Chernof and the nearby village of Chernofski. The name is Russian and first published in 1792 by Lieutenant Sarichev of the Imperial Russian Navy. The village is now abandoned but in 1831 it consisted of 4 huts. Chernofski Harbor was an operational U.S. Navy base from 1942 until June 1945 and the main supply port for Fort Glenn on Umnak Island. Chernofski Harbor received all incoming supplies that arrived on ocean-going cargo ships. The supplies were then transferred to barges that were then towed across Umnak Pass to Fort Glenn.
The ruins in Mutton Cove consist of docks, a coal pile, buildings, communications towers, a submarine net, barbed wire, petroleum, oil, and lubricant drums, pipelines, and batteries. Most of the remaining debris can be found on both sides of Mutton Cove and on Cutter Point. Read more here and here. Explore more of Mutton Cove here: