Old Chenega is an abandoned Chugach-Alutiiq Native village on the southern tip of Chenega Island, at the head of Chenega Cove, in Prince William Sound about 42 miles (68 km) southeast of Whittier and 15 miles (24 km) north-northwest of the village of Chenega Bay, Alaska. The name of the historical village on Chenega Island was first reported by Ivan Petroff in 1880. A post office was established there in 1946 but was discontinued when the village was abandoned after the 1964 earthquake.
The March 1964 Alaska earthquake was the strongest earthquake in American history, measuring 9.2 on the Richter scale. The quake triggered a tsunami that flooded and destroyed Old Chenega. Sixty-eight people lived in the village at the time of the quake and 26 were killed. The original village was the oldest continuously inhabited community in the area.
Although other communities hit hard by the disaster were rebuilt, the survivors of Chenega relocated to Sawmill Bay on the east coast of Evans Island, and started the village of Chenega Bay. The ancestral home at Old Chenega village was never rebuilt. Read more here and here. Explore more of Old Chenega here: