Funter Bay is on the west coast of the Mansfield Peninsula on Admiralty Island, about 32 miles (52 km) southeast of Gustavus and 14 miles (23 km) southwest of Juneau, Alaska. The bay was named in 1883 by William Healey Dall, of the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, for Captain Robert Funter, an English explorer who mapped parts of the Pacific Northwest in 1788.
Funter Bay was the site of a World War II internment camp for Aleuts that were relocated 1500 miles (2419 km) from their homes in the Pribilof Islands. Evacuees from the island of Saint Paul were housed in an abandoned cannery on the north shore of the bay, and evacuees from the neighboring island of Saint George were housed at an old mine site on the southeast shore of the bay. The injustices they suffered were the subject of the Aleut Restitution Act of 1988.
A large salmon cannery was built at Funter Bay in 1902 and operated until 1931. A lack of maintenance eventually led to the collapse of most of the large structures. Local residents salvaged some of the wood for cabins and by the 1990s most of the remaining cannery structures were razed. Read more here and here. Explore more of Funter Bay here: