The George Inlet Packing Company built a cannery in 1913-1914 near Beaver Falls on George Inlet, about 9 air miles (14.5 km) east-northeast of Ketchikan, Alaska. George Inlet is a fjord that extends 14 miles (22.6 km) north from Carroll Inlet on Revillagigedo Island. The estuary was named in 1880 by the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey for Captain W.E. George, a local marine pilot who made the first sketch of Revillagigedo Channel and Tongass Narrows.
The George Inlet cannery was leased in 1926 and then purchased by Libby, McNeill & Libby in 1928. The cannery operated until 1958 and was closed. It reopened in 1996 as a historic landmark, with guided tours of the early cannery operations and equipment. Libby, McNeill & Libby was a significant player in the Alaska seafood industry in the early 20th century. The brothers Arthur and Charles Libby and Archibald McNeill started the business in 1868 in Chicago and soon perfected the canning of meat, winning a gold medal at the 1878 Paris World’s Fair, called an Exposition Universelle at the time. The company entered the Alaska salmon canning business in 1912 with a cannery in Kenai and soon had canneries in all Alaska fishing districts.
In 1959, Columbia River Packers Association and Wards Cove Packing combined to become Columbia Wards Fisheries and purchased the Libby canneries in Alaska. The facilities at George Inlet were closed shortly thereafter. Read more here and here. Explore more of Libby Cannery here: