Yalik was an Alutiiq village in Yalik Bay, on the outer coast of the Kenai Peninsula, about 38 miles (61 km) east of Seldovia, Alaska. Yalik Bay is at the southwest entrance to West Arm Nuka Bay. The bay was named for the village in 1911 by U.S. Grant of the U.S. Geological Survey.
The village located in Yalik Bay was the only community on the outer coast to survive by name into the historic period, although two other abandoned settlements, one in Aialik Bay and a second in Rocky Bay were known. Yalik village residents were called “yaleymiut” and were an independent tribe. In 1880, the village had a population of 32.
Yalik was abandoned by 1890, probably as a result of declining sea otter populations, an influenza epidemic in 1884, and the efforts of the Russian Orthodox church to consolidate remote villages. Sea otters were almost extinct by 1890, and when the Alaska Commercial Company store in Yalik closed, the people were probably forced to move to white settlements to make money for store-bought goods. Most residents moved to English Bay to be near the church and work odd jobs for traders and prospectors and later for the Kachemak Coal Mines founded in 1900. Read more here and here. Explore more of Yalik here: